The Bizzle

"Saving your ass since 1999"

New for 2011: the calmer Bizzle

So, 2011 eh? A whole new year. Which means that it must be time to make wild, life-changing, and ultimately unfulfilled plans. 

Naturally, as a commercial lawyer, I don’t admit to there being any room for improvement in my knowledge and skills. But if I were, hypothetically to make some resolutions for the New Year, this is what they might look like: 

1. Stay Calm Look, it’s a given that everyone around me is a self-interested incompetent, out to sabotage my best efforts at keeping the company out of trouble. For some reason they don’t realise this, even after I’ve spent 20 minutes ranting at them about their shortcomings.

Apparently, shouting doesn’t fix things. Who knew? And so the new, calmer Bizzle is born. 

2. Drive my own car To effect this change, I shall be following Richard Russeth’s advice. Obviously I’m cleverer and more committed than my colleagues and clients (c’mon, I’m a lawyer, of course I am), but does it help to focus on that?

In the absence of extensive hiring and firing powers, and state-of-the-art brainwashing facilities, I can’t change my colleagues or their personalities. So I shall concentrate on what I can change, which is my own actions and reactions. 

3. Be nicer I am nice, honestly. This year I will be trying to act nice as well. In public, if possible. In the meantime, if I’m ignoring you, it’s not personal, I’m just trying to concentrate. On the other hand, if I’m swearing at you, then it is personal, and I’ve broken my first two resolutions as well as this one. 

4. Find space Well, Santa didn’t bring me anything from my Christmas list. Frankly, I just don’t see the point in being good any more. But to deliver on my first three resolutions, I need to find some mental space and (let’s be honest) a place to hide.

Unfortunately, our open-plan office has no break-out spaces, and there’s too just many displacement activities available at home. If anyone needs me, I’ll be in the stationery cupboard.

5. Work less This year I shall leave the office by 5.30 each day, and I shall not work on Saturdays and Sundays. Yeah, right. 

I shall keep you updated on my hypothetical progress against these hypothetical resolutions. In the meantime, thanks to all for reading this blog in 2010, and I shall endeavour to keep you entertained throughout 2011. Happy New Year!

One response to “New for 2011: the calmer Bizzle

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention New for 2011: the calmer Bizzle « The Bizzle -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

